Barron County Democratic Party Minutes

January 16, 2014


The Barron County Democratic Party Meeting was held on Thursday, January 16, 2014 at the Norske Nook Restaurant in Rice Lake, WI.  Vice-chair Keith Anderson called the meeting to order at 9:45 A.M.  Self-introductions were made by the fourteen members and friends attending.

Minutes of the November 21. 2013 meeting were distributed.  Cecil Kippenhan moved accept them as printed.  Ed Forrester seconded the motion which was approved.

Treasurer Clarice Fall presented the financial report.  She reported bank balances of $1,954.60 on November 30, 2013 and $2,091.23 0n December 31, 2013.

Dee Taylor gave the membership report.  She continues to encourage members to renew and follows up on potential new members.

State Representative Stephen Smith commentated on state government activities.  He particularly singled out the unfairness of the current school aids formula. Other discussion concerned how to most fairly generate additional revenue for state roads.

Russ Rindsig reported on recent county government activities.  Concern was expressed by some present concerning the employment of a former county conservationist by a sand company.

Old Business

       Food pantry items will go to Cumberland this month.

       The December Holiday gathering at Lehmans Supper Club was a successful event.

       Election results for Barron County Democratic Party offices were given:  Linda Thompson – Chair, Keith Anderson – Vice- Chair, Russell Rindsig – Secretary, and Clarice Fall – Treasurer.  Keith announced that an additional person to serve as vice-chair would be most welcome. 

New Business

       Redistricting Hearings were held recently in Rice Lake and Chippewa Falls by Senator Jauch, Representative Smith and others.  The sessions were well attended with support for changing the method to a system not controlled by the political parties.

       A handout of declared Democratic candidates for 2014 elections was distributed. Candidates and races identified were as follows: State 75th Assembly District – Stephen Smith: State Senate – Janet Bewley; Governor – Mary Burke; U.S. House of Representatives – Kelly Westlund; State Attorney General – John Richards and Ismael Ozanne, and Barron County Circuit Court Judge – Maureen Boyle.

       Fund-raising for 2014 elections was briefly discussed.  Members are to bring ideas to the February meeting.

       A membership event to be held in the late winter or early spring was discussed.  The focus, place and date to be confirmed at the February meeting.

The next meeting:  9:30 A.M., Thursday, February 20, 2014 at Norske Nook in Rice Lake.  John Hardin, Drug Court Foundation Director, will be the speaker.

The meeting was adjourned by unanimous consent at 11:10 A.M.               Russell Rindsig, Secretary